Tags

, ,

What’s in a name? Quite a lot as it happens. Too many Africans give their children European or other foreign names. Naming your child is of course your prerogative but as a trend I find it disturbing and another manifestation of latent self-hate.

Once upon a time in Kenya you had to give your child a so called ‘Christian name’ to get them baptised and admitted to school as the only schools back in the day were run by missionaries. Kenya has been independent for nearly fifty years. Yet nine out of ten Kenyans I meet have not just biblical names but other Anglo/Celtic names too. “Hello my name is Brian”, “Hello my name is Roger”, “Hello my name is Sheila”. Fifty years after independence. They all have African middle names but mostly choose not to use them.

My cousin named his son David. When I asked him why he said it was so his child could fit in better. They live in London. He also said he picked that name so people would be able to pronounce it. You meet a European in Africa, you learn to pronounce their name or you do the best you can. My father worked with a lot of Germans in Nigeria and I learnt to pronounce names like Günther, Wolfgang and Jörchel when I was a child. They didn’t adopt or give their children African names. I learnt to pronounce their names just as they learnt to pronounce mine.

Names say so much about a people, their history and the way they see the world, why aren’t we as Africans more proud of ours?